We all have friends, acquaintances, coworkers and neighbors, among whom is a gossip, or we have met someone with whom we have lived a misunderstanding, has tried to harm us or harm us.
These problems have not prevented us from talking to our friends, informing neighbors and acquaintances about relevant events in our lives, or teaching coworkers photos of our children. We do not usually discuss our work situation with strangers or show photos that require a certain context to be understood by our professional colleagues.
This ability to preserve our privacy, protect our privacy, and value other people’s access to our data and information, acquired over the years, seems to have evaporated with the appearance of the currently ubiquitous social networks.
Facebook stands out among the most used social networks in Spain with 15 million users, compared to 12 million on Tuenti in 2012, or 4.5 on Twitter. For this reason, it seems important to us to briefly review the privacy settings on Facebook in order to properly manage who we want to reach, and who we don’t, the flow of information that we generate on this social network.
Mission Impossible? No, configuring Facebook privacy today is possible and it won’t take a lot of work to get it done. Here we will review some tips to get it.
Where is privacy configured on Facebook?
On the Facebook desktop we have two accesses to our privacy settings: the settings icon and the Privacy shortcuts icon. A good summary of what you should keep in mind when you act on Facebook are these shortcuts: “Who can see my things?” “Who can contact me?” and “How do I stop someone from bothering me? These questions are answered in the privacy shortcut menu so we will focus on them.
Who can see my things?
This option allows you to control who can see your next publications, although you can always choose another option when you publish new content. Remember that if you post to someone else’s bio, they will control who can see the post and if a person is tagged in a post, that person and their friends will be able to see it.
If you want to keep track of everything you have published, commented or tagged, use the element “Where do you see who can see or find the things that I have posted or that have tagged me?” That allows you to access the activity log where you find this complete information and in the form of a list.
The next element “What do others see in my biography?” Allows you to put yourself in the shoes of others and learn how a specific contact and the general public sees what you post on your wall.
Who can contact me?
This option will allow you to filter messages from your inbox first using basic filtering that allows certain people to send you messages even if you have not accepted them in your group of friends, or strict filtering indicating that only your friends can send you messages .
Secondly, we will indicate who can request our friendship, where we can choose between all Facebook users or reduce it to our friends’ friends.
In addition to the privacy shortcuts menu, you can access these options from the configuration icon, and, once inside the configuration page, accessing “Configuration and privacy tools”, clicking on the privacy icon in the menu on the left.
How do I prevent someone from bothering me?
This is the third and last section of the privacy shortcuts of the Facebook menu, and it is very simple to use since it allows us to point out the user that we want to block and consult the list of those that we have blocked.